So you may be thinking dear friends, that a post of my new boots does not really count as a creative, much less crafty contribution, even if there is some vibrant cross-stitch in the frame.June_019_2 You see, to me these boots are a call to adventure (and I am not even talking about the height of the heels on these boots).  They conjure an image in a recent (Vogue?) knitting magazine of an elegant booted leg displaying a knee high black knit stocking with a delicate and sensous red rose climbing up the calf.  They cry for an adventure in world folk-sock kniting and I have just the book to get me started:

Socks_1

"Ethnic Socks and Stockings" by Priscilla A. Gibson-Roberts.

Of course, there would have to be a lot of knitting before the fabulous patterns on these folk socks could peak out over the tops of these boots, but I still think it would be worth it.

Knowing the length of my knitting queue and the minimal amount of time I seem to spend oSocks_001_1n knitting these days, it might be best for me to stick with something like these cuffs from the latest issue of piecework.  I think you are supposed to wear "cuffs" peaking out from the edge of your sleeves, but I think that with a few extra stitches they would look pretty fab around the tops of my boots as well 🙂

