A Christmas gift for my Mom who challenged me to make one for her last Spring (see April 2009 post).  I subsequently found this wonderful crochet pattern by cozycoleman  available on etsy.com and proceeded to put off making it until I was pregnant myself and started thinking about Christmas presents.  Mama and baby are made from sundry yarn from the stash, except for the skin tone yarn which is Red Heart Eco-Ways acrylic yarn made with recycled plastic.  It was actually quite soft and pleasant to work with and has a nice sheen. 

The pattern comes with instructions for crocheting anatomically correct mama, baby, placenta and a vest and granny square pants outfit.  I chose to make my own clothing and accessories for mama to relax in before and after the birth:  a cuddly robe and feminine comfy and breastfeeding-friendly jersey jamies with a crocheted edge (from a remnant of some stretch pants my daughter long outgrew,) a mug of hot chocolate, and a baby blanket.   My mother loved it all.

  more pictures on ravelry.

   

 

