Sometime around 2004 I decided to make a t-shirt quilt. Fast-forward a few years and I had a sizeable stack of t-shirts, not enough storage space and a baby on the way.  Clearly the quilt’s time had come.  Cutting the triangles didn’t take long at all.  Learning how to maneuver knit fabric wasn’t as difficult as I thought it might be. Sewing the triangles back into squares was fairly quick and then arranging the squares…was another matter entirely.  After weeks of idly rearranging (you may recall one version here) and gazing at beautiful quilts on the internet.  I decided to use a pinwheel pattern and stick with the light/dark rule as my guide.  After carefully composing and sewing all the pinwheels, and then deciding how they would flow together, I still managed to sew several rotated the wrong way so that there are several areas where the same color triangles meet.  But overall I’m quite pleased with the results.    

The scrappy back is from re-purposed t-shirts as well. I used a simple spiral shape for the quilting. The stretchiness of the t-shirt fabric did pose more of a challenge to me in the finishing and the edges are a little wonky, but it’s soft and vibrant and that was the main goal.

  In the process it also became clear that I wouldn’t be sewing 15 more of these pointed star squares anytime soon.  It’s getting much more use as a potholder and makes a lovely set with these potholders my mum  made don’t you think?  (Potholder on the left is a scrap of vintage linen and the one on the far right is coffee-cup aplique).

 

