I so enjoyed knitting my toe-up variation of the artichoke socks that after briefly looking for another sock project to keep in my purse, I decided to just knit another pair in another color.  In pink, the pattern reminds me of lotus blossoms and stacked hearts.

A raverly search revealed that there are lots of lovely variations of socks with this motif, including a toe-up pattern identical to my own: Dreaming of Spring toe-up socks.   The links and photos below are from ravelry.

From left to right: Salis  Socks,by Julia Riede, adds an extra half repeat on either side; Azure socks by Deb Barnhill (photo of lulubelle’s sock) frames the motif in a smaller cable; Loksins by Cassie Thoreson shifts the motif to the side and cleverly splits the lace pattern to bring it down the front of the foot; and last but not least:  Lacy Cable socks by Susan Gutperl, extends the lace pattern all the way around and up to the knee with very clever patterning at the calf increases.  I’m not sure I can pull off lacy knee-socks, but these sure make me want to try.

