After I started knitting this, it occurred to me that I should have just bought a plain black cardigan and embroidered on it.   A plain black stockinette sweater doesn’t make for very exciting knitting.  Still it worked up quickly and I got an odd feeling of satisfaction from the working the turned hems and double knit button band.   Even more so than other projects, this one felt a little bit like Giappetto must have felt putting the finishing touches on Pinocchio, watching it slowly come to life through each detail.  The sparkling “moonshine” buttons Frida picked.  The silky floral cotton lining on the hidden velvet pockets inside the sweater (apologies for the blurry pic, unfortunately this is a rather accurate view of life around here at the moment).   The addition of a single precious sparkling crystal button found and saved in one of Frida’s trinket boxes for just such an occassion.  And of course, the blooms!  Embroidering on knit fabric can be tricky and I loosely followed the messy style of the original.  At first it looked like, well a mess, but together emerged as a lovely garden.  Now if only I had made it a bit bigger, because alas, she has already outgrown the extra ease I factored in and now it fits just right.

